Transgender is generally described as an umbrella term for persons who do not conform to their biological sex. Emasculated (castrated, nirvana) men, non-emasculated men (not castrated/akva/akka) and inter-sexed persons (hermaphrodites) also fall under this category.

Gender Identification

Last updated on Jun 15, 2022

Courts have accepted that it is the right of any person to choose their gender if they do not identify with the sex assigned to them at birth. This choice is made when a person understands their internal and individual experience of their body, bodily appearance, speech, mannerisms etc. This is known as ‘gender identity’.(( Navtej Singh Johar and Ors. vs. Union of India (UOI) and Ors. (2018)10 SCC 1, National Legal Services Authority vs. Union of India (UOI) and Ors.  (2014)5SCC438.)) 

You have a right to be recognized in India with the gender you identify with. This may be the sex you were assigned at birth or the gender you associate with as you grow up. Throughout your life, you may even change your gender identity multiple times. Currently under the law, three genders have been recognized: ‘male, ‘female’ and ‘third gender’ (transgender persons). For example, you may be assigned the sex ‘male’ at birth, but while growing up you have the right to identify your gender as a transgender person. 

To change your gender identity, you can take the following steps:

  • You can change your name to associate with the new gender you identify with.
  • You can undergo Gender Affirmative Therapy which includes forms of medical interventions by which you can affirm and explore different options for your new gender identity. 

If you have affirmed your new gender, you can start by getting new or updating identification documents to show your new gender identity.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Have a question you want to ask our legal experts?

Related Resources

PAN Card for LGBTQ+ Persons

PAN (Permanent Account Number) is an identification proof mandatorily required to file taxes which is issued by the Income Tax Department.

Aadhar Card for LGBTQ+ Persons

Aadhaar is a 12-digit identification number, specific to each individual, issued after satisfying a verification process based on demographic information and biometric information.

Your Right to Recognition of Your Gender Identity

Identification documents play a major role in facilitating your rights such as the right to healthcare, education, etc. and are also important for day-to-day activities. It is your right to get identification documents recognizing the gender you want to be associated with.

Learner’s License for LGBTQ+ Persons

A Learner's License is a temporary license which is valid for 6 months, which legally allows you to practice driving on Indian roads, as long as you are accompanied by an adult who holds a valid Driving License

Driving License for LGBTQ+ Persons

A Driving License (DL) is an official document, issued in the form of a card, by the Regional Transport Office (RTO) or Regional Transport Authority (RTA) of each State.

Voter ID for LGBTQ+ Persons

A Voter ID Card, also known as the Electors Photo Identity Card (EPIC) is a photo identity card that is issued by the Election Commission of India (ECI) to all individuals who are eligible to vote.