Whom does the UAPA apply to?

The UAPA applies to anyone who commits a UAPA crime in India or outside India(( Section 1, Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, 1967.)). It applies to Indian citizens irrespective of where the crime is committed and also includes people in Government service, and people on ships and aircrafts registered in India.

Types of persons

Apart from individuals, the UAPA also applies to(( Section 2(ec), Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, 1967.)):

  • Companies
  • Firms
  • Organisations and associations of persons
  • Any agency, office or branch owned or controlled by the above.

What is the Citizenship Amendment Act, 2019?

The Citizenship Amendment Act, 2019 amended the citizenship laws in India. According to the law, any person who is a Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi or Christian from Afghanistan, Bangladesh or Pakistan, who entered India on or before the 31st December, 2014, is automatically granted immunity, and will not be treated as an illegal immigrant, but as a citizen of India. This immunity is not applicable to Muslims.

Is a Voter ID Card a valid proof of citizenship?

There is no official ruling or information on whether the Voter ID Card is a valid proof of citizenship from the Supreme Court or the Parliament. However courts in different states have given contradictory judgments on the same. For instance, the Gauhati High Court has held that the Voter ID Card is not a valid proof of citizenship(( Munindra Biswas vs Union Of India, Case No. : WP(C) 7426/2019)), whereas, the court in Mumbai has held that the Voter ID Card is a valid proof of citizenship.(( Voter Identity Card Sufficient Proof of Citizenship, Rules Mumbai Court.Tribuneindia News Service. Accessed at https://www.tribuneindia.com/news/nation/voter-identity-card-sufficient-proof-of-citizenship-rules-mumbai-court-44563.))

What are diplomatic and official passports?

There are three types of passports that are issued in India. These are ordinary, diplomatic and official.  

A diplomatic passport has a maroon cover, and is issued to designated members of the government, members of the judiciary, diplomats, etc., whereas an official passport has a grey cover, and is issued to designated non-gazetted government servants and other persons as authorized by the government.

What is the validity of a minor’s passport?

The validity of a minor person’s passport is 5 years or till they turn 18, whichever is earlier. However, minors between 15 and 18 years of age can apply for a passport which has a 10-year validity, or for a passport which will be valid until they turn 18.

How can persons with disability (PwD) register as electors?

In order to facilitate Persons with Disability (PwD), the ECI has also developed an android-based mobile application i.e. PwD App, which provides the facility for voters themselves to register as PwD so that the same can be reflected in the electoral roll. The person with disability can request for registering as an elector, and upon receiving the request the ECI will ensure that the booth level officer will reach the doorstep. Through the PWD App, a PwD can: 

  • Inform About Disability 
  • Request For New Voter ID Registration 
  • Request For Transfer 
  • Request For Updation 
  • Find Polling Booth 
  • On-Call Support

In what situations can you be disqualified from voting?

You can be disqualified from voting if you have been convicted of the following offences:

  • Bribery
  • Voting on behalf of someone else
  • Trying to prevent someone from voting by threatening them
  • Inciting or promoting hatred and violence between people in connection with an election
  • Obstructing or destroying election processes/documents

Can a person who is not an Indian citizen of India become a voter?

No. A person who is not a citizen of India is not eligible for registration as a voter in the electoral rolls in India. Even those who have ceased to be citizens of India on acquiring the citizenship of another country are not eligible to be enrolled in the electoral rolls in India.

What happens if I fail my driving test?

If you fail the driving test, you can take it again after 7 days. However, if you fail your driving test 3 times, you cannot take it again for the next 60 days from the date of your last test. You should also re-check this with the RTO/RTA of your State.